A Very Hungry Caterpillar

I have been buying up so much fabric.  I seem to be loving so many prints, and can’t seem to stop NEEDING it.  A fairly common problem, I think?  While in Ontario I discovered a wonderful little quilt shop, called Greenwood Quiltery.  It was there that I found the Very Hungry Caterpillar prints by Eric Carle.  The colours are vibrant, and I immediately thought of making a play quilt for my baby boy.  I decided not to use the quilt kit, opting, instead, to purchase only the fabric I absolutely loved and hope for the best.  I then went on a quest to make my very first quilt.  Ever.

I drew up a few designs, and ended up having just enough fabric to execute the design I decided to follow.  I maybe have just enough scraps to make a pillowcase with.  I love it so much!!!

I machine stitched the binding, because, to be honest, there was no way I was going to handstitch that.  Although, I am hand quilting it.  I decided it would look nicest if I quilted the outline of all the different shapes.  I’m really liking how it’s turning out so far.  It’s huge though!  It’s 62″ x 75″.  A bit of an odd size, but I was determined to use all my fabric.  And I figure he needs all the room he can get as he rolls around on it!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

